Detailed Course Schedule

Topic: Planning
Required reading: same as above
Recommended reading: same as above
Dates
Material
Announcements
Week 1
Mon, Jan 12 Topic: Rules of the Game
Required reading: AIMA, Section 1.1
Recommended reading: What is AI by John McCarthy

  
Mon, Jan 12 Recitation from 5:00 to 5:50 pm
  • Get a CSE account
  • Getting Started with Emacs and ACL
  • Intro to Piazza
  • Get your free (time-limited) version of ACL. 
  • Xemacs + ACL Keystroke accelerators
  • How To Use The Gnu Emacs-Allegro Common Lisp Interface.
  • Go, step by step, through the Emacs Tutorial. You can access it from emacs itself, by typing ESC-x, help, t.
  • Instructions on using xemacs and ACL on the PCs and on cse.unl.edu.
  • Wed, Jan 14 Topic: Historical notes
    Required reading: AIMA: Chapter 1
     
    Fri, Jan 16
    Pretest
    Two parts:
    In-class: closed book, handwritten crib sheet allowed, must be turned in with test
    Take-home: due Wed, Jan 21
    Week 2
    Mon, Jan 19
    Martin Luther King Day
    Wed, Jan 21 Optional Make-up recitation 6:30-7:30pm
    Topic: Intelligent Agents
    Required reading:
  • AIMA Chapter 2
  • LWH: Chapters Chapter 1, 2, 3, and 4.
  • Recommended reading:
  • Beating the Averages   (Paul Graham)
  • Take-home pretest due
  • Glossary 1 assigned
  • Fri, Jan 23 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above

  • Homework 1 assigned
  • Week 3
    Mon, Jan 26 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above

  • Glossary 1 due
  • Glossary 2 assigned
  • Mon, Jan 26 Recitation
  • Proceeding with the introduction to Lisp
  • Getting Started with Emacs and ACL.
  • Required reading:
  • LWH: (Chapter 1, 2, 3, 4, and) 6, 10, 13, 14.
  • Beating the Averages (Paul Graham)
  • The best way to learn Emacs is to go through the online tutorial (accessible from emacs by typing Escape-x (for entering a command), h (h for help), t (t for tutorial).
  • Using Emacs.
  • Wed, Jan 28 Topic: Solving Problems by Searching
    Required reading:
  • AIMA: Chapter 3, Sections 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3
  • Recommended reading: LWH: Chapters 9, 11, 12, 17.
  • Quiz 0 (Chapters 1 and 2)
  • .
    Fri, Jan 30 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading:
  • LWH: Chapters 5, 7, 8, 15, 16.
  • Recommended reading:
  • LWH: Chapters 9, 11, 12, 17.
  • Beating the Averages (Paul Graham)
  • Homework 1 due
  • Quiz 1 in class (part of Homework 1).
  • Homework 2 assigned
  • Week 4
    Mon, Feb 2 Class cancelled due to weather
  • Glossary 3 assigned
  • Mon, Feb 2 Recitation Class cancelled due to weather  
    Wed, Feb 4 Class cancelled due to weather/road conditions
    Fri, Feb 6 Topic: Solving Problems by Searching
    Required reading:
  • AIMA: Chapter 3, Sections 3.4, 3.5, and 3.6
  • Recommended reading: Read more chapters in LWH
  • Glossary 2 due
  • Week 5
    Mon, Feb 9 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above
  • Homework 2 due
  • Homework 3 assigned
  • Glossary 3 due
  • Glossary 4 assigned
  • Mon, Feb 9 Recitation
    Followed by make-up class from 6:00 to 6:50 PM.
  • Quiz 2 (part of Homework 2)
  • The lisp code of the Farmer's dilemma.
  • Next steps in Lisp (PDF).
  • Wed, Feb 11 Topic: Heuristic Search
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above
     
    Fri, Feb 13 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above

    Week 6
    Mon, Feb 16 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above
  • Glossary 4 due
  • Glossary 5 assigned
  • Mon, Feb 16 Recitation
  • Quiz 3
  • Lisp: Farmer's dilemma; trace, step, profile
  • Wed, Feb 18 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above
    Challenge question assigned today: Prove that the MST is an admissible heuristic for the TSP. Answer by PRIVATE message on Piazza.
    Fri, Feb 20 Topic: Local Search
    Required reading: AIMA: Chapter 4
    Recommended reading:
  • Entire Chapter 4
  • LWH: Chapters 6, 10, 13, 14.
  • LWH: Chapters 9, 11, 12, 17
  •  
    Week 7
    Mon, Feb 23 Topic: Adverserial Search
    Required reading: Section 5.1, 5.2, 5.3
    Recommended reading: All Chapter 5.
  • Play with the Alpha-beta animation by Yosen Lin, or the applet from Eastern Michigan University.
  • Homework 3 due
  • Glossary 5 due
  • Glossary 6 assigned
  • Mon, Feb 23 Recitation
  • Quiz 4
  • Wed, Feb 25 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above

    Fri, Feb 27 Topic: Constraint Satisfaction.
    Required reading: Chapter 6
    Recommended reading:
  • Bartak online guide,
  • Kumar's paper,
  • Bartak's paper (PDF)
  • Homework 4 assigned
  • Week 8
    Mon, Mar 2 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above

  • Glossary 6 due
  • Glossary 7 assigned
  • Mon, Mar 2 Recitation
  • Quiz 5
  • Wed, Mar 4 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above


    Fri, Mar 6 Topic: Same as above (CSPs)
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above
  • Homework 4 due
  • Week 9
    Mon, Mar 9 Topic: Same as above (CSPs)
    Required reading: Same as above
    Recommended reading: Same as above
  • Glossary 7 due
  • Mon, Mar 9 Review session
  • Quiz 6
  • Wed, Mar 11
    MidTerm
    Closed books. Handwritten, double-sided crib sheet allowed, must be turned in with exam. No proofs included or solutions to examples or problems.
    Fri, Mar 13 Topic: Finish CSPs
    Required reading: Focus on AIMA Section 6.5
    Recommended reading:

    Week 10
    Mon, Mar 16 Topic: Logical Agents
    Required reading: Chapter 7, Sections 7.1, 7.2, 7.3
  • Glossary 8 assigned
  • Homework 5 assigned
  • Mon, Mar 16 Recitation
    Wed, Mar 18 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
     
    Fri, Mar 20 Topic: Logical Agents
    Required reading: Chapter 7, Sections 7.4, 7.5

    Week 11
    Mon, Mar 23
    Spring vacation
    Wed, Mar 25
    Fri, Mar 27
    Week 12
    Mon, Mar 30 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above
  • Glossary 8 due
  • Homework 5 due
  • Homework 6 assigned
  • Glossary 9 assigned
  • Mon, Mar 30 Recitation
  • Discussion of NP Completeness
  • Quiz 7
  •  
    Wed, Apr 1 Topic: Same as above
    Required reading: Same as above

    Fri, Apr 3    
    Week 13
    Mon, Apr 6 Topic:Finish Propositional Logic, Start First Order Logic
    Required reading: Chapter 8, Sections 8.1, 8.2, and 8.3
  • Glossary 9 due
  • Glossary 10 assigned
  • Mon, Apr 6 Recitation  
  • Quiz 8: Propositional Logic
  • Wed, Apr 8 Topic: First Order Logic
    Required reading: Chapter 8
     
    Fri, Apr 10 Topic: First Order Logic
    Required reading: Chapter 8  
     
    Week 14
    Mon, Apr 13  
  • Homework 6 due
  • Homework 7 assigned
  • Glossary 10 due
  • Mon, Apr 13 Recitation
  • Quiz 9
  • Wed, Apr 15    
    Fri, Apr 17
    No class: E-Week Open House
    Optional (unless you committed to coming) Lecture by Professor Francesca Rossi
    Recommended reading: Preference Modeling and Reasoning
    Week 15
    Mon, Apr 20  
  • Homework 7 due EXTENDED
  • Glossary 11 assigned (time permitting)
  • Homework 8 assigned
  • Mon, Apr 20 Recitation
    Wed, Apr 22 Topic: Finish FOL, Start Planning.
    Required reading: Chapters 9 and 10
    Recommended reading:
  • AIMA Section 10.3
  • AIMA Sections 11.1--11.4
  •  
    Fri, Apr 24   Topic: Planning.
    Required reading: Chapters 9 and 10
    Recommended reading:
  • AIMA Section 10.3
  • AIMA Sections 11.1--11.4
  •  
    Week 16: Dead week
    Mon, Apr 27 Topic: Planning
    Required reading: same as above
    Recommended reading: same as above
  • Homework 7 due
  • Homework 8 due
  • Glossary 11 due
  • Mon, Apr 27 Recitation
  • Quiz 10
  •  
    Wed, Apr 29 Topic: Planning
    Required reading: same as above
    Recommended reading: same as above
     
    Fri, May 1 Final glossary due
    Week 17: Finals Week
    Tue, May 5
    Final Examination
    From 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm in Avery Room 118.
    Closed books.
    Handwritten, double-sided crib sheet allowed, must be turned in with exam.


    Last modified: Fri Mar 18 15:17:23 CDT 2016